The earth is composed of 4 distinct layers:

1. Inner Core -

metalic (Fe and Ni) solid center of planet

spins slightly faster than rest of earth which scientist speculate is the cause of the change in the earth's magnetic field

result of metal within the electric "motor" created by outer core

Very Dense – more than 3 million times the pressure at the surface of the earth.

2. Outer Core -

 hot, liquid metal spinning very fast = creates earth's magnetic field hot liquid metal means that electrons flow freely, creating an electric flow Maxwell's Laws told us that a moving electric field creates a magnetic field
Dense (9 - 10 g/cm³) Iron (Fe) & Nickle (Ni)

2. Mantle – Density ~ 8 g/cm³

large portion of earth's structure of molten rock (magma) "plastic" rock layer convection cells within layer transfer heat to lithosphere can be deformed like a hot, plastic fork

convection cells here result from uneven heating

warmer magma rises slowly through layer until it contacts crust then magma cools and is pushed aside by warmer magma still rising drags crust along with its own movement results in divergent and convergent boundaries

2. Crust -

surface of earth – floats on the mantle – Density ~ 3 to 5 g/cm³ broken into 12 large plates and numerous smaller pieces which carry ocean and continental plates Continents – mostly Granite – frozen magma Oceans – mostly Basalt – frozen lava